Backing up to Synology and B2

I’m new to Kopia, giving up on Time Machine => Synology NAS backups and looking to use Kopia instead.

My home network consists of multiple Macs, and a Synology DS920+.

What I want:

• Directly accessible / recoverable backup of Macs on the Synology NAS
  • The same data, also direct accessible / recoverable, on B2 cloud storage
  • I’d prefer not to have client Macs doing the B2 backups directly (but could be convinced otherwise)

I have a repository on the Synology, with the Macs creating snapshots there. (Users on this network are trusted, so I’m not currently using Kopia in server mode on the Synology, but open to doing so if there are benefits besides access control.)

Based on what I’ve absorbed so far, I’m thinking a solution might be to:

• Install Kopia on the Synology NAS, connected to the repository that already exists there
  • Use sync-to to get a copy of that repository synced to B2

Questions:

• Does this approach look like the best solution for what I’m wanting?
  • Does this config enable a Mac to directly access / recover from, the B2 repository, the way I can currently access the repository on the NAS?
  • Best way to install Kopia on Synology? Docker, direct?

Thanks !!

Any thoughts from those who understand Kopia better that I do?

I have similar use cases as you and not using Kopia Server as all my clients are “trusted”.

I have multiple clients, PC, Mac, Linux, etc… all backing up to a repo on Synology NAS. Each client runs the Kopia CLI and pointing to the same repo.

I run rclone CLI on the synology to sync to OneDrive as well as JottaCloud. I know it’s not B2, but they are external clouds to my local files.

Therefore, in theory, if my local computers fail, I can restore from Synology, OneDrive or JottaCloud since they are “all synced”. I can point any Kopia CLI to any repo, and as they are all synced I can restore from any of them.