Kopia failed backup on AWS S3 Glacier

Hi there, I’m new to Kopia I was looking for a tool to do backups to my personal PC and a excuse to start learning AWS.

I don’t want to use the UI if possible because the task I want to do is very simple:
I’m on windows 10 and wrote a simple PS script that run with windows task scheduler. The first time I ran kopia I had to connect to the S3 and put the credentials there and that worked like a charm once I figured out the correct permissions for the IAM account. The S3 is configured as GLACIER because my idea is to have a backup to use just in case of a disaster.

Crear snapshots

kopia snapshot create “D:\Archivos_no_SSD\DCS-docs”
kopia snapshot create “B:\Godot”
kopia snapshot create “D:\Archivos_no_SSD\Curso Unity - UTN BSAS”
kopia snapshot create “D:\Archivos_no_SSD\Data Science”
kopia snapshot create “B:\Archivos\archivos C\Archivos\GameDev”

Verificar la salud del backup

kopia maintenance run --full

this is the content of the file. I managed to run it a few times but now I get this error and I’m totally lost.

ERROR open repository: unable to open repository: unable to create format manager: unable to read format blob: error getting kopia.repository blob: unable to complete GetBlob(kopia.repository,0,-1) despite 10 retries: The operation is not valid for the object’s storage class

Any ideas?

Long story short - kopia does not support cold storage tier like AWS Glacier. If you want to use Glacier you need a backup program which knows how to handle it. There are free and paid options available.

1 Like

The content of a repository basically is split into 2 parts:

1. Packs, that contain the actual data blobs
  2. Index files with a list of all the files and a reference which pack contains which data.