How to only run kopia snapshots when zfs dataset is decrypted?

I am pretty new to kopia but very happy so far. I use it to snapshot and backup an encrypted ZFS dataset, but I just noticed that I had forgotten the fact that upon restart of this NAS where kopia runs I need to manually decrypt the ZFS dataset which holds the folder kopia should back up.

Furthermore, I know I can create a script which gets run by cron, and which first checks if the dataset is encrypted, but I thought I’d first ask if anyone has a better or similar solution/problem?

Kopia does not have the ability to decrypt the ZFS dataset for you.

BUT, what you can do is write your script that decrypts the ZFS dataset and then use Kopia’s Actions feature (see Actions | Kopia) so that Kopia runs your script automatically before the snapshot. You can even tell Kopia to run another script after the snapshot is complete (such as to re-encrypt the ZFS dataset).

1 Like

I wanted to continue tinkering with actions but am confused by the terminology I found on the actions docs page: Actions | Kopia

could somebody please explain in plain words what the difference is between --before-folder-action
and
--before-snapshot-root-action or simply point me to where I can find more info about the difference?

Lets take this scenario:

I have 3 cronjobs which run periodic snapshots of 3 folders. 2 of them are encrypted so on these snapshots I need some action to run a script and only continue if the decryption keys for these folders are available and the folders are mounted while the 3rd cron job should not do any actions as the folder it snapshots is unencrypted.

I already found a script which can exit with 0/1 depending on the encryption status of a specific folder, I’m simply struggling to understand the concept of these two --beforeXYZ options.

• Before folder action runs before Kopia scans a folder when running a snapshot.

• After folder action runs after Kopia scans a folder when running a snapshot