Kopia UI as root

I am new to Kopia. Can someone let me know how to launch kopia UI as root on ubuntu 20.04? I am not sure if there is an issue wtih my OS or there is different way to launch it as root.

sudo kopia-ui also shows above error

What about: sudo kopia-ui?

I’m also running Ubuntu 20.04, I only get the “running as root” error with sudo or as root, not the other error. But with --no-sandbox the kopia-ui starts as root.

Instead of running as root, use linux capabilities.

setcap cap_dac_read_search=+ep /usr/bin/kopia

1 Like

I found this after trying to get Kopia to back up root folders. The problem is, setting the capability for Kopia isn’t enough; it must be set for Kopia-UI as well. But as soon as you do that, Kopia-UI can’t see libffmpeg.so. Apparently this is by design.

So we’ll need another solution for backing up folders only readable by root.

Try using kopia server instead of kopia-UI. The interface is the same, you just have to have a browser available to use with it, which I’m guessing you do.

It’ll give you the exact same experience, but you’ll be backing up all your root folders no problem!

2 Likes

Are you saying to run kopia server on the machine you want to backup? I’m trying to do that, but can’t figure that out, can’t find much on running a server from the docs. I have tried unsuccessfully to even start it in that mode.

Yeah.

This is the command I use, and the reason for the full path is because I call it on reboot from Cron so it starts automatically on boot.

/usr/bin/kopia server start --insecure --without-password

2 Likes

Thanks, that worked.

Just had the same issue.
The Kopia-UI has a command link on the Snapshots page:
/opt/KopiaUI/resources/server/kopia --config-file=/home/%USER%/.config/kopia/repository-#####
So, rather than running the cli kopia version in /usr/bin/, it runs another.

Running
sudo setcap cap_dac_read_search=+ep /opt/KopiaUI/resources/server/kopia