Trusting your backup

TL;DR – I backup my local files… how do I know when/if my local files have gone bad?

I’m new to Kopia. And just today, through testing Kopia, I found a 1 year-old JPG that was corrupted on my server. I was able to retrieve it from an existing backup. But it made me realize that all backup solutions do not protect against corruption. None of them, even Kopia.

I’m a Windows guy and I’ve used NTFS since the beginning of it. I’ve used Windows ReFS for a number of years and I simply cannot trust it. The only local file system to trust is ZFS.

Beyond your local file system. How do I know my backup source is clean? Today, I’m thinking, I need a ZFS-like scrub.

I plan to run a periodic (maybe monthly) compare of each file in my local server to my backup. To confirm the files actually match either in binary or preferably a hash.

What is the point if the files I backup slowly bitrot and I don’t even realize it. And all backup solutions simply backup what they find.

It’s late so this is not exactly a well flowing thought but I hope it explains my point.

So at this point, I’ll now need to restore my various backups to confirm my local files are not corrupted. I didn’t see this one coming.

1 Like

Today, I’m thinking, I need a ZFS-like scrub.

You answered your own question. ZFS don’t trust anything, so the only scrub can tell you if something flipped over.

I plan to run a periodic (maybe monthly)

Depend on volume, for example scrubing 126Tb taking 2-3 days. scrub literally reread the whole array, so once in a month such exercises is Ok, but it really depend on requirement and importance of content.

To confirm the files actually match either in binary or preferably a hash.

That’s what ZFS scrub doing - comparing hashes saved in metadata with content, so no need to run your own hashing. If scrub would find corruption it will try to repair it and report it.

What is the point if the files I backup slowly bitrot and I don’t even realize it.